Weather (state,county)

Breaking News

2019 Senate Poll: Saraki Faces Tough Battle

The battle for Kwara Central senatorial seat in February next year promises to be a tough one for Senate President Bukola Saraki.

According to details of the polls released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Senate President, who is billed to fly the flag of the Peoples Democratic Party in the election, will have to slug it out with 16 other candidates of various political parties.

His rivals in the February 16, 2019 election will include the candidates of All Progressives Congress (APC) and Africa Democratic Congress (ADC) as well as those of 14 other political parties, four of which are women.

The four women seeking the Kwara Central Senatorial seat with Saraki are Abubakar Khadijat Akanni of MPN, Okanlawon Adekunle Taiwo of GPN, AbdulWaheed Mariam Titilayo of ADP and AbdulSalam Kuburat of LP.

Other candidates for the seat are a former member of the State House of Assembly Dr Yahaya Oloriegbe (APC), Abdurahman Garuba (AP), Ambali Mujaheed (ACPN), Babatunde Sambo (SDP), Abdulraheem Abubakar (ADC) and Mohammed Saidu of Peoples Trust (PT).

In Kwara North, Alhaji Sodiq Umar of the APC will slug it out with Zakari Mohammed of PDP while Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of PDP and Architect Lola Ashiru of APC are the frontline candidates in Kwara South.

Ajimobi squares up with Akanbi, Folarin contends with Sunmonu in Oyo
Popular names appeared yesterday on the list of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the race for the three Oyo State senatorial seats.

On the list for Oyo South Senatorial District were the incumbent, Senator Adesoji Akanbi, who is running on the platform of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and the incumbent governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, who is running on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Akanbi was elected on the APC platform in 2015. He defected to ADC in September when he discovered that Governor Ajimobi had obtained the form for his seat. While he hails from Ibadan North West Local Government Area, Ajimobi hails from Ibadan South West Local Government Area.

Also contending for the same seat from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is Mr Adebayo Lawal while Mr Fola Akinosun is angling for it on the platform of African Democratic Party (ADP).

In Oyo Central District, former Senate Leader Teslim Folarin of APC will slug it out with the incumbent, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu. The latter was also elected on the platform of the APC in 2015 but defected to ADC recently. Folarin picked the APC ticket this time. He defected from the PDP earlier in the year.

PDP fielded Mr Oyebisi Ilaka while ADP fielded the current member, House of Representatives for Lagelu/Akinyele Federal Constituency, Hon. Olatoye Temitope Subaru.

In Oyo North, the incumbent, Senator Fatai Buhari of APC will slug it out with PDP’s Hon. Mulikat Akande-Adeola, ADC’s Adeleke Lawal Adebayo and ADP’s Ahmed Salawudeen. Akande-Adeola is a former Majority Leader, House of Representatives.

With some of the political juggernauts racing for the same seat, the 2019 senatorial election in Oyo State promises to be very interesting.

Ekweremadu, Okorocha, others set for battle

Also on the new INEC’s list for the senatorial race are Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu West), Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha (Imo West) and former Minister of State for Works Dayo Adeyeye (Ekiti South), among others.

Ekweremadu’s opponents in Enugu West include Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu (APC), Ken Onyekaonwu (UPP), Ozoani Chinedu (JMPP), Philomena Agu (SDP), Gbazueagu Nweke Gbazueagu (APGA), Walter Oji (ADC), Anayo Ononugbo (Green Party of Nigeria) and Charles Aninweze (NAC).

The main candidates that will battle it out in Enugu North are incumbent Senator Chuka Utazi (PDP), former Enugu State House of Assembly Speaker, Eugene Odo (APC), Hope Ubulu (UPP), Samuel Omenihu (GDPN), Nwokolo Chuka (Mega Party) and Eze Simon Chukwuma (CCPC) while former Enugu Governor Chimaroke Nnamani (PDP) will face Lawrence Eze (APC), Ibiyemi Akanji Ariyo (GDPN), Okafor Doree Ijeoma (KOWA), ýEze Mark Anthony (SDP) in Enugu East.


Ekiti North Senatorial District: Olubunmi Adetunmbi (APC), Duro Faseyi (PDP).
Ekiti Central: Opeyemi Bamidele (APC), Obafemi Adewale (PDP).

Ekiti South: Dayo Adeyeye (APC), Mrs. Biodun Olujimi (PDP).

The PDP has the following as its candidates for the House of Representatives elections: Kehinde Agboola (Ekiti North 1), Akin Awodumila (Ekiti South 2), Mr. Segun Adekola (Ekiti South 1), Mr Ayo Oladimeji (Ekiti Central), Bisi Kolawole (Ekiti Central 2) and Sola Omotoso (Ekiti North 2) while the APC will be fielding Peter Owolabi (Ekiti North 1), Ibrahim Olarewaju (Ekiti North 2), Sola Fatoba (Ekiti Central 1), Mrs. Omowumi Ogunlola (Ekiti Central 2), Yemi Adaramodu (Ekiti South 1) and former Ekiti House of Assembly Speaker, Mr. Femi Bamisile.


Ebonyi Central: Senator Obinna Ogba (PDP), Julius Ali Ucha (APC)
Ebonyi North East: Senator Sam Egwu (PDP), Mathais Adum (APC).

Ebonyi South: Mr Onu Nweze Prince (APC), Michael Ama Nnachi (PDP).

For House of Representatives, the APC is putting forward Nshii Uchenna Mbam (Abakaliki/Izzi), Michael Ifere (Ezza North/Ishielu), Chinedu Oga (Ikwo /Ezza South), Odi Festus Ifesinachi (Ohaozara/Ivo/Onicha), Anthony Eko (Afikpo North/South) and Peter Oge-Ali (Ebonyi/Ohaukwu).
To fly the PDP flag are Lazarus Ogbe (Ezza South/Ikwo), Edwin Nwonu (Ezza North/Ishielu), Sylvester Ogbaga (Abakaliki/Izzi), Idu Igariwey (Afikpo North/South), Chukwuma Nwazunku (Ebonyi/Ohaukwu) and Makwe Livinus Makwe (Ohaozara/Ivo/Onicha).


Imo West Senatorial District: Governor Rochas Okorocha (APC), Osita Izunaso (APGA), Jones Onyereri (PDP).

Imo East: Ezenwa Onyewuchi (PDP), Emmanuel Ojinere (APC Imo East), Emedoro Nkiru (NAC),Ugonma Donald (ASD), Rev. Samson Emmanuel (YPP), Azuatalam Clarice (MAJA), Chioma Chikezie (ACCORD) and Okeahilam Leo (Labour).


Benue North East: Former Governor Gabriel Suswam (PDP), Senator Barnabas Gemade (SDP), Joseph Akaagerger (APGA), Mrs. Mimi Orubi (APC).

Benue North West: Senator George Akume (APC), Orker Jev (PDP).

Benue South: Comrade Abba Moro (PDP), Steven Lawani (APC), Okibe Onoja Mike (SDP).


Cross River North Senatorial District: Wabily Nyiam (APC)
Cross River Central Senatorial District: Victor Ndoma-Egba (APC), Dr. Sandy Onor (PDP), Solomon Esor (SDP).

Cross River South Senatorial District: Prince Bassey Out (APC), Gershom Bassey (PDP).

House of Representatives candidates of APC in the state on display yesterday were Mr Jude Ngaji (Ogoja/Yala), Mr Cletus Obun (Ikom/Boki); Dr Alex Egbona (Yakurr/Abi), Mr Koko Dan (Bekwarra/Obudu/Obanliku); Mr Mkpanam Obo (Akamkpa/Biase), Mr Egbe Abeng (Obubra Etung) while those of PDP are Mr John Gaul Lebo (Yakurr/Abi),Legor Idagbor (Bekwarra/Obudu/Obanliku); and Mike Etaba (Obubra/Etung).

For SDP are Mr Ciyeju Ojong (Ikom/Boki), Ofem Ikpi (Yakurr/Abi); and Ojen Eastmond (Obubra/Etung).

An official of INEC, who begged not to be named, said the names were those available at press time.

Thanks For Reading! Please Support us...

Kevin Djakpor Blog is editorially independent - our journalism is free and accessible. But the revenue we get from advertising is falling, so we increasingly need our readers like you to support us. Support Kevin Djakpor Blog with as little as $1


No comments